Flight

Earlier this May, the good people of Innovatronix Inc./Tronix Photo Gears asked me if they can tag along in one of my photoshoots. They will provide the lights and the portable power equipments for the day, its a good deal and I can play with their equipments. They make great portable power equipments and they have local and international clients. I saw Karl Taylor use them in one of his tutorial videos.

The Concept was  a girl under water reaching to the surface.

I have been pondering on the concept of doing an under water shoot, without really doing it under water. The model will be wearing something loose and would be jumping and do movements like what someone under water does. I decided I will be adding things in post to make look like the real thing. I will be using one light above the model, will set my white balance to incandescent to make everything blue, will put a sheet of CTO in front of the softbox so it will make my models skin go back to warm color. Use the smoke machine to give some atmosphere. I have a well planned shoot, so it seems…

The day came, every one was there, all equipments was there. It was time to shoot.

bts
Lots of jumping were done to capture a perfect shot 🙂

I played with my settings, starting of with f8, 1/200. It was really dark so I shifted back to F6.3. I used a telephoto lens for the shoot the whole time, a 70-300mm on a D5100. ISO was set to 100. White balance to incandescent. Lights were triggered with a radio trigger. I don’t have great gears, but what I have gives me what I need.

I gave my model a cardio work out, a lot of jumping was required to capture the shot/s. Good thing she is a fitness buff. She won 2nd place last year for Miss Great Bodies by Slimmers World. It was a piece of cake for her.

My light man also had some work out, he held the light stand above the model the whole time hahah.

We were having a great time, only problem is that its a bit windy and the smoke from the smoke machine gets carried away by the wind quickly. I decided to add the smoke in post instead. But I have some shots with the smoke from the machine that I liked. We had fun.

Post.

In post, I made some attempts to follow my plan to make it look like she’s under water. I made a template, adjusted the colors a bit, made water reflections etc. But, I didn’t liked it. It was looking fake and artificial. I liked the original shots better with little adjustments. Instead of an under water look I decided that its going to be something about flying, going upwards, something theatrical that you see on a stage play. My concept shifted to “Flight” and I’m happy with it.

Flight.

My plan didn’t worked out as I want it to be but I created and have  images that I’m happy with  and gave me some recognition from online photo contests. One photo will also be published on Tuesday on a local broadsheet’s photography section.

A photo from Flight with smoke added in post.

 

Another photo from Flight with smoke from the smoke machine

Series?

Now I’m contemplating on making a series of photos focusing on the concept of Flight. 🙂

 

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Amy says:

    It’s appropriate time to make a few plans for the long run and it’s time to be happy.
    I’ve learn this submit and if I could I want to counsel you some attention-grabbing issues or suggestions.
    Perhaps you could write subsequent articles relating to this article.
    I desire to read even more issues about it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

